#fitfam, Breakfast, Career Woman, Fitfam, Food, FOOD. BEANS. NIGERIAN FOOD. BLACK-EYED PEAS RECIPES. BEANS RECIPES. PROTEIN RECIPES., Healthy food, Nigerian Food, Working Mum

NO-BREAD MONTH DAY 11 – A SMOOTHIE RECIPE EVERY MUM NEEDS

You know, I couldn’t stop eating the Smoothie. I ate it all even when I knew I hadn’t got a perfect picture of it. So forgive me for not having that awesome pic of this baby. It was just too delicious. Or should I say Kikilicious? 😉

Anyone can drink this smoothie despite it having Ugu (Pumpkin Leaves) inside it.

Yes oh. There’s Ugu in this smoothie. If that makes you want to puke, then you’re in good  company.

I can’t stand the taste of Ugu juice for the life of me.

Once, when we were kids, my mum squeezed out the juice from Pumpkin Leaves and asked me to drink it. It was a remedy she adopted back then for our health as we were in boarding schools where nutrition levels were suspect. We needed to recuperate fast on our return from school so she often had us eat all kinds of “healthy” stuff during the holidays. I wonder why the healthy foods are rarely the sweetest foods. Those were miserable times.

On that fateful day, I sneaked out to the backyard to throw the juice away. But guess what? My sharp Mama found out what I was up to and she caught me in the act. I will never forget the hurt on her face when she saw what I had done. She never made that Ugu juice again. It still hurts. She must have thought, ‘After all the stress I went through. And all I wanted was for her to be healthy.’ Oh a mother’s love.

Shout out to all mothers. You all are the real MVPs.

I wish Mama had this recipe; she’d never have had to force us to drink up that Ugu juice because this is way tastier and you get the added nutrients from all the other ingredients.

Here’s what you need to make it:

This recipe makes enough juice to fill 2 glasses

• 1 handful of Ugu leaves
• 2 Bananas
• 3 Apples
• Some Strawberries
• 1 Tablespoon Honey
• Orange Juice

Wash all the fruits thoroughly. I washed the Ugu with salt since it’s not going on the heat at all. There might be some germs on it that need more than washing with water to be eliminated.

Chop the Apples, Bananas and Strawberries and pour into a blender. Pour in the Orange juice and blend thoroughly.

Voila!

As with all Smoothies, you can go to town on this one. Feel free to add whatever you like.

I like to use naturally sweet fruits to camouflage the Pumpkin leaf taste as much as possible.

You can store this in Mason Jars in the fridge and grab one to go to work with in the morning.

I served this with an Omelette (See recipe here) and some fried Yams for Mr. Sweetie Pie who needs more calories to get on than I do. This would be an ideal breakfast for kids  – a tasty Omelette with some fried Yams (don’t we all just love fried Yams?) and the Smoothie.

Picture_20180412_152936131

A glass of this Smoothie makes a sufficient breakfast by itself though.

2 thoughts on “NO-BREAD MONTH DAY 11 – A SMOOTHIE RECIPE EVERY MUM NEEDS”

  1. Oh my goodness!!!!! Now Ugwu… Well, Yay! I love “healthy” meals and would take down anything that I am been told is healthy and good for the body. Having given out so much right from our first menstruation​, I believe every female should strive to recuperate.
    Hmm… I will try this… Maybe not now though… Lol.
    Well done Kikilicious.

    Like

    1. Awwww! Thanks Babes! It’s really worth the trouble and tastes alright. It’s such a quick way to get your veggies down. Thanks for stopping by Olive!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.